HomeНовости и политикаRelated VideosMore From: Guardian Culture

One roof, three homes: America catches on to multigenerational living | How We Live Now

95 ratings | 11925 views
Marie Clausman lives in one wing. Her sister in the second. And her daughter upstairs with the kids. Subscribe to Guardian Culture ► http://bit.ly/subgdnculture Three homes under one roof gives this big California family companionship … and a nicer house. As Americans live longer and kids struggle to move out, could multigenerational living be a new model for the suburban dream home? The Guardian Film Show ► https://goo.gl/lxV8RV Guardian Culture website ► http://www.theguardian.com/culture Guardian Film website ► http://www.theguardian.com/film The Guardian on YouTube: The Guardian ► http://is.gd/guardianyt Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (14)
Frieda A (4 months ago)
Leave it to Americans to think we just came up with a new concept, when it fact many countries have been doing this for centuries.
Magpie Nutmeg (6 months ago)
Human were never meant to be on our own, after all. And multigenerational homes can allow for closer more enriched family life.
No name ok (7 months ago)
"Moving out" is strictly a middle class habit of the first world. In the rest of the world multigenrational households are the norm. Honestly, when I hear an american goes into debt or paycheck-to-paycheck desperation just to move out at 18 it sound 100% irrational behaviour.
Mark Brown (8 months ago)
These homes cost one half a million dollars. Who can play the mortage with the taxes. This will never be a realtity for most americans.
Ahmet Ozokcular (9 months ago)
I don’t understand. What is multigenerational living?
shadow fire (7 months ago)
living in the samehouse
shadow fire (7 months ago)
Ahmet Ozokcular parebts, granparents, and kids in one family
Dawn D. (10 months ago)
This was pretty common when I was young. It was nice for the married couple to live with parents- plenty of help with the little ones. The kids were close to the grandparents.
Nathaniel Carreon (1 year ago)
Other cultures have been doing it for centuries.
egal (1 year ago)
3:12 this guy is so cute
Soo Donim (2 years ago)
cough cough traditional Indian houses cough cough
Rinkie Shipley (9 months ago)
Yes! And they work perfectly! My primary family are are gone now but I have had an Punjabi Sikh Indian family for the past ten years! I find your "cough cough" ignorant and offensive. This is a workable-win-win opportunity.
Nobody's taking that away from you, you insecure little guy.
junglechick13 (2 years ago)
Billions of families worldwide live in multi generational housing that is much much smaller. The daughters' living room is the size of half an entire house in some parts of the country....and world.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.